Why is it…?


My husband and I were watching a video of when his family took sodas to our place on the eve of our wedding. ( Akin to a distinct Kikuyu tradition to symbolise the uniting of the two families, where the groom’s family would present the bride’s family with traditional brew to ease relations). The  video guy interviewed as many people as  he could to give their ideas and advice. From my parents in love to my grandmother and aunties, everyone had something valuable to say, mainly to the bride.

Then my husband asked, “why is it most if not all the advice given even at weddings is always addressed to the bride? What about the groom, doesn’t he matter?”

I always ask myself the same question each time I attend a wedding.

Leave a Reply

