Culinary Delights …salad


To be honest I had never tried cucumber and watermelon salad, until this and was curious as to how the combo will work out.

Result, the best salad I have ever made… ( so far..)he he its is that yummy! 

Thanks Wa Makeri

CUCUMBER AND WATER MELON SALAD 

Ingredients 

½ red onion, thinly sliced.

4 cups diced water melon deseeded

1 large cucumber, deseeded and sliced.

1 handful mint, thinly sliced

¼ cup olive oil

Juice of ½ a lemon

Handful of cashews, chopped

salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste 

Method 

  • Soak the onion in cold water to reduce tanginess
  • Pat dry the water melon and cucumber and toss with the mint.
  • Drain the onion, squeeze dry and add to the salad with the cashew nuts.
  • Add the oil and lemon juice and kidogo salt to taste
  • Grind some black pepper on top and toss then serve.

NB:

 1.I did not use the olive oil and salt and the salad turned out fine.

2. This is an adaptation of 2 recipes I came across for the salad, one from Wa Makeri’s blog and the other from Food Network magazine. 

 ENJOY!!!!

8 thoughts on “Culinary Delights …salad

  1. Nice! And thanks for featuring me here. My friends made this salad at a pot luck lunch I attended in St. Paul De Vence a while back. To be honest, the mix of ingredients kept me away from the dish until one of my friends (whose house the salad had come from) asked me to put some on my plate.

    I had to go back!

    Like

  2. Yes! it is that good and my husband loves it too. I tried inserting a link to that article on your blog but have not figured out how to do that…. yet…

    Thanks for being a follower.

    Like

  3. You figured it out! Applause applause!

    Keep blogging. I’m looking forward to hearing your stories about love and marriage. 🙂 And you figured out how to do a blogroll real quick, so you deserve another commendation for that.

    Like

  4. Wanjoro

    Ha ha thanx Wa Makeri! I was determined not to go your way with the blogroll ha ha but my weakness was the links. To Al, no we cannot have ths every night as there are more goodies coming.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Culinary Delights « wamakeri

Leave a Reply

