Culinary Delights: Shahi Kaju Aloo


What is your take on Indian food! I love potatoes, cashews and yoghurt and this dish combines them all.

To be honest I have tried this recipe twice, but the meal is yummy. The first time I made it, it was enough to serve 2 then we had an unexpected guest 😦   So I reduced my share then the guy did not even finish his meal!!!!!! I do not like seeing good food go to waste so y’all can imagine how bad I felt. This recipe I tried is from a Nita Mehta cookbook I have for Indian cooking. Anywho here goes:

Ingredients

  • 250 g potatoes, peeled and cubed 
  • 4  tbsp  cashewnuts soaked in a 1/4 cup of water
  • 1 tbsp chopped ginger and 1 tsp chopped garlic
  • 1/2 tsp black cumin seeds
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 onions, chopped 
  • A pinch of turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp garam masala
  • 2 tbsp chopped dhania (coriander)
  • 1/4 cup natural yoghurt (beaten well)
  • 1/4 cup milk 
  • Oil for frying

Method 

  • Fry the potatoes to a deep golden brown and keep aside.
  • Grind cashewnuts, ginger and garlic to a paste and keep aside 
  • Heat some of the oil in a heavy bottomed pan, add cumin and bay leaf. Wait 30 seconds till seeds stop spluttering.
  • Add onions and cook on low flame till onions turn soft but do not let them turn brown.
  • Add turmeric and garam masala. Stir to mix well.
  • Add the cashew paste prepared earlier and cook for 1 minute.
  • Add the  yogurt and stir fry till water evaporates, and cook till it dries.
  • Add milk and 1/2 cup of water and boil/simmer for 2-3 minutes
  • Add the fried potatoes and chopped coriander to the gravy and simmer on low flame till it thickens and coats the potatoes. Serve hot with nan or paranthas.

I will make this soon and update with photos Ok?

8 thoughts on “Culinary Delights: Shahi Kaju Aloo

  1. Not a fan of cashews but Mrs. T is a big fan. I should surprise her soon. I don’t even want to start making commitments BECAUSE ratatouille is still just an idea running around in my head. I’ve been threatening my relas that I will make ratatouille for them for at least 3 months!

    Like

    1. You will get round to doing it…..eventually. Ion, my kitchen garden was almost ruined by the heavy rains and i have a case of the missing strawberries 😦 However it is a post for another day.

      Like

  2. Hehehe. Yes, I will. The blog post is even taking shape in my head … what a dreamer I can be. 🙂 How I love strawberries. Pole sana … looking forward to the post anyway. Does that make me something of a sadist? I hope not!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

