MUM is the word


When I was growing up, my mother was and still is my biggest role model and was perfect in every way. Adolescence however threw that view out of the window and my Mum became the perceived enemy. Too nosy, too concerned, knowing everything, how was it that she could see right through me? It all irritated me to no end.

In my twenties, I realised what a gem she was, all the pressure she put me through was to show me that I was a diamond in the rough; and that rough needed to be sloughed off in every possible way. Each day I wake up I thank God for her and the polishing that she did. If she was not that hard on me and my siblings, we would not be the women we are today. My mother taught us to be God fearing, self disciplined and the importance of giving back. I can run out of space describing all that she has taught my sisters and I.

My mother is not a perfect human being, I know that now, but she was/ is a perfect mother, and now grandmother who if given a chance will spoil her granddaughters to no end.

She is also very intelligent, funny and hardworking. I remember growing up every other Saturday was โ€œfloor polishing dayโ€ and boy would we polish that floor. My mum also has this incredible knack for picking on things gone wrong. She would tell at a glance if the house had been washed using a mop or floor duster uh uh no shortcuts for her – I was so guilty of that ๐Ÿ™‚

She would wake up early every morning, prepare breakfast for us, pack our break and lunch and ensure the cows have been milked and deliveries done ( when we had cows, once upon a time), and be ready for work on time! She would make us cheese sandwiches or drop scones for break, and fries and sausage or rice for lunch. Shady me would always swap my lunch with my friends as I thought their beans and chapati were better than cheese. Now that I know how much ham and cheese costs I know better. We did not have a house help for nine years from the time I started school till my younger sister was born. We helped out with the chores and by the time I was in class six, I could prepare my own break and lunch and be ready for school on time. My elder sister became an ironing expert she had Dad’s shirts to practice the art on.

Mum was quite the fashionista and super organized too. Once she came to pick me from school and my male classmate commented on how beautiful and smart she was. I was so proud but a bit disappointed that he did not tell me I got my looks from her. My elder sister reminded me that during school holidays, Mum would have her arrange her wardrobe for the week, alternating between skirts and blouses and dresses. So if Monday she wore a dress, Tuesday it would be a skirt and blouse, Eh Mama! [This now makes sense to me as to why and how I arrange my own clothes SMH].
Aunty Em, my Mum’s younger sister always tells me how much she admired my Mum growing up and still does. When on break from college, Aunty Em would baby sit us and she would spend the day trying on my Mum’s outfits and shoes and make up, then try and return everything in it’s proper place so as not to get caught. But being super observant Mum always noticed.

She also has very beautiful hair and would and still does take good care of it. We only went to the salon to have our hair plaited; she would wash our hair and blowdry it herself. She taught us DIY hair tricks such as egg and avocado treatment, and henna treatment. Up to this day, I prefer washing, treating and blow drying my hair myself.

She was also the disciplinarian, and was perfect at it. That’s all I can say on the matter ๐Ÿ™‚

She also adapts pretty fast to technology; thanks to my younger sister. Mum is on social media and though she is in another country at the moment, and though my elder sister and I are married with kids, she still checks on us. Proper. Mothering and grandmothering by Skype. I have to send her photos of my baby each week via Whatsapp and if not, text messages will flow in furiously as to why I have not updated her ๐Ÿ™‚ Woe unto me if I send my younger sister a photo and not my mother. I love this woman so much!

Now that I am in my thirties, I realise the significance and appreciate ALL that she did for us.
Mum, I love you so much and in a way that words cannot express. As I grow older, I find pride and humour in my similarities with you. May God continue expanding your boundaries, grant you good health and long life. Cheers!

Oh, and I want a new handbag. * wink* wink*

PS: Praying she does not join Twitter too ๐Ÿ˜‰

3 thoughts on “MUM is the word

Leave a Reply

