Daddy’s Girl


After the post on Mum, its only fair I say something about my Daddy too right?

My father is a very private person. He loves reading, is a great cook – he makes some mean pork- and his best and only dance move I have ever seen him do is the twist.

I am a Daddy’s girl or rather was until my younger sister came along 🙂 

I got my love of reading from my father, and learnt how to read at an early age. From as far back as I can remember he always came home with books for us to read, and he had quite a collection of his own too. From Bedtime Stories to Ladybird classics to Secret Seven, Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew, he got them for us all. One of my fondest memories of growing up is waking up in the morning to find different books in our room. As I grew older he and I developed the same taste in reading and would even swap books when done and I being a faster reader would be ever so impatient when waiting for him to complete a book I wanted to read.

The only book I never read in my father’s collection was “Caitani Mutharabaini” (Ngugi wa Thiongo’s Devil on the Cross) as I was not patient enough to finish reading a book in Kikuyu.

Dad may have never spanked us, but one word from him was enough to make you mend your ways. My father always taught us that it was up to us to define how others treated us. If you wanted to be treated as an adult, then you had to act like one, including taking responsibility for all your actions and their consequences, whether good or bad.
My Dad is also prone to moments of silence, that yours truly is meant to interpret for her sisters 😉
I remember when I got married he went quiet on me for a while until he called me and admitted that he’s never accepted the fact that I am all grown up. According to him, he still sees me as the little girl who would cry when her elder sister started school, despite the fact that I was too young to join school. The little girl who would put on her gumboots and tie a headscarf and take the small panga to weed the compound alongside him. The little girl who would refuse to go to Sunday school so I could go to church with him for the main service.
Now that I am a mother, he is still taking it in bit by bit. There is one time we talked on the phone and I was hushing the baby at the same time and he just went quiet then said “I cannot believe you are a mother now”. And whenever he calls and hears my baby in the background, he says she sounds exactly as I did at that age.

My Dad ensured we were never late for school and he would always take some time off during our school holidays to spend time with us. Men I miss those days, lunch was usually fries and some fried meat with some steamed cabbage on the side. All served in a platter where we would all dig in. Balanced diet that was tee hee. And may I state with no fear of repercussion, that though he is a great cook, steamed cabbage was never his strong suit 🙂

My father has also influenced my taste in music in a big way. He had/ has varying taste and had records of Barry White, Nana Mouskori, Donna Summer, Olivia Newton – John, Jackson Five, Roger Whitaker, Jim Reeves, Dolly Parton, Kenny Rogers, Stevie Wonder, The Temptations, The Commodores, Diana Ross to Tabu Ley Rochereu and Franco, and many more. The Charley Pride records were definitely my Mother’s 😉
Thank you Dad for moulding us into smart, self confident and assertive women.

I love you Dad so so much!!!!May you always be proud of us!

One thought on “Daddy’s Girl

Leave a Reply

