Loving Motherhood


I love being a Mother. So many new things to learn and enjoy every single day. I get to discover more of myself and H as parents and our little Angel. When I was expectant, I was pretty open minded and wanted nothing more than to hold the baby in my arms. We did not check out the gender; all we wanted was a healthy baby. And a healthy baby it was. Njeri is now seven months old and I cannot believe how fast time has flown. She is sitting up well and weaned now and a jovial, friendly baby. The girl is talkative too and quite active, tummy crawling now.

I could have had a lousy day at work but the minute I walk through the door and see her, all my depressing thoughts vanish and I am happy again. Her smile is the most beautiful in the world and guaranteed to make my heart skip a beat. Her bond with her father is the most amazing thing in the world. She literally leaps when she hears or sees him home. She screams in delight waving her hands in the air yelling “tada tada” which I think is her equivalent of saying hello, and stretches out for him to take her. I love watching them together. I never knew we humans had such a capacity to love. They are my two favorite people in the world and everyday my heart is at bursting point full of the love I feel for them. Njeri adores her daddy and woe unto him if he is not paying attention to her. H cannot even carry on a phone conversation when holding her at the same time. She will bat or kick at the phone or complain in baby talk for his attention. When he rocks her she goes to sleep in a flash. Till morning. In the evening it is like she senses when he is almost home. She sits up alert and stares at the door and sure enough H will appear a few minutes later. It is sweet and spooky at the same time ha ha. When I told my Mum about it, she told me I was the same way with my Father at that age. Hmmmmm.

She already has a favorite toy, a little bear H brought from NY. (Yep it had to be a gift from him) and loves it when you blow bubbles in the air, and her favorite game is “peek a boo”. Njeri always wakes up with a smile on her face, and loves Abscondita too to bits. They have a strong bond too and saying good bye at the end of the day is not easy for the both of them. One of these days I am pretty sure she will get separation anxiety, not from me, but Abscondita L I thank God for her as she takes good care of my baby and engages her ; they play together, communicate to each other (one in normal speech, the other in baby talk) and understand each other perfectly. The first thing Abscondita asks me in the morning is if Njeri has slept well, and what time she went to bed and whether I fed her and if she finished her food. All these before even asking me how I am. Ha ha Abscondita rocks! I love being a mother and it is an amazing gift from God that I am enjoying immensely this far. I know it can only get better from here. Praise be to God!

4 thoughts on “Loving Motherhood

  1. There you go again and make me cry…Am crying because am also overwhelmed by love every time I watch my family and also by the fact that you are totally head over heels with motherhood.

    Like

Leave a Reply

