Pranked!


I do not like pranks. Not one bit.

So my friend Hash decided to play a prank on me a couple of weeks ago.

She is a great baker and always busy, but she was my choice to bake Leo’s third birthday cake. I had booked months before. Yes, months and even paid a deposit. All that was left was for her to deliver.

Hash is meticulous, keeps time and keeps her word so I was sure she did not need to be reminded about the cake.

A week to the delivery date, I texted her. This is the texterversation took place:-

Me: Hey dear, hope you have been well, are we still on this Friday?

Hash: Hey, Huh? What’s happening this Friday? I am not in the Country till the fifteenth, what was it about?

Me: I am to collect my son’s birthday cake.

Hash: Oh Shit! I completely forgot!!!

I started getting a bit mad…

Hash: So, what do we do?

Huh? Was she for real, chic was asking me what to do? I was officially pissed so I just texted H to let him know what had happened. All he did was text back “ It is ok, we will figure out what to do.”

I had to head into a meeting so I did not respond but I was not pleased and how could I get another baker to do a great job in such short notice?

When I got back to the office a couple of hours later, I decided to ask Hash for my refund and get an acquaintance who happened to be an upcoming baker to do the job for me. I was really disappointed as I know Hash is very OCD about her work even if it  was some emergency.

Then my phone beeped ..

Hash: Are you there? I was kidding.

Me: Silent and seething..

Hash: I hope I didn’t give you a mini heart attack, I was just pulling your leg and yes, we are definitely on for Friday.

WHAT? This lady was playing a prank on me the whole time?

Needless to say, Hash is so sweet , you just cannot get mad at her. LOL

Sigh. I was happy though but those two hours were torture for me, no pranking Mama Njeri please, a beg oh!

Here is the wonderful cake she baked for my son.

Leave a Reply

