Weekend Recap


Friday

A couple of my colleagues decided to check out #nairobiburgerfest to kick off this weekend and why should I not tag along given my love of food?

Venue of choice: Urban Burger at Prestige Plaza, Ngong road .

It is the newest branch of the Urban Gourmet Brand and it has kept up the standard  quite well methinks.

It was quite busy as it was lunch time and burgerfest after all, but the service was on point. I had a cheese burger, my colleagues had the Texan burger, the blue cheese and the fourth was the chilli burger. Unfortunately the chilli burger was not as hot as the waiter made us believe, but delicious nevertheless. We had the burgers with fries, onion rings and coleslaw on the side. We were all stuffed, and had to get doggy bags for the fries. The patties were juicy, the buns fresh, the salsa on point too.  They really do have great burgers and I am delighted that they are now closer to where I work. Yum!

Saturday

Was to take Njeri to dance class then spoil her rotten afterwards. Unfortunately, dance class was canceled and she had a tummy ache so decided to stay home and sleep. I decided to do a bit of shopping for the kids and stock up on groceries. Came across this place; Tracy’s Kids Collection and I am in love. Good quality and beautiful selection of kids wear at really good prices. Her customer care is top notch too and she is located just across the popular Smart Baby at Chaka road. Smart Baby does have good clothes too but awful customer service. I am done with them. Tracy’s  is my new boo!

Rushed home to check on Njeri after grocery shopping. Sigh. Current food prices are a joke! I really do not see how the current government expects us to reelect them.  H was coming home from a work trip, decided to make him some yummy chicken biryani with creamy cucumber salad. I got the biryani recipe here Easy and quick. I did get carried away with the food colour though. LOL.

This was my second time to attempt this dish and I am pretty proud of my effort!

18422530_1464712330269327_2067160197869867458_o
Chicken biriani with creamy cucumber salad

Creamy cucumber salad recipe. (Serves 3-4)

Ingredients

  • 1 large cucumber, peeled and deseeded, and sliced thinly
  • 1 cup natural yoghurt, sieved to remain with a smooth curd (takes an hour so to remove the whey)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • ½ tsp mixed herbs
  • I small red onion, sliced thinly
  • 1 tsp dhania chopped finely

Method

  • Mix the curd with the onions, herbs, dhania and salt and pepper to taste.
  • Add the cucumber, mix well and chill till ready to serve.

PS: Ensure the yoghurt drains well and deseed the cucumber so salad is not too watery and runny.

Sunday

I have said here before I love weekend breakfasts, and as a Mother’s Day treat to myself, I made these yummy pear and nutmeg pancakes. I reduced the sugar though to 2 tbsp as I did not want them too sweet.

The taste is out of this world, OMG!!!! I served with some fruits and downed with my usual ginger tea.

18422559_1465303296876897_1427812203557469366_o
Pear and nutmeg pancakes with an assortment of fruits and jam

This is one recipe I need to try again. Too delicious!!!!

Also check out more recipes on Kaluhi’s blog. They are easy to make, use easily available and affordable ingredients, you cannot fail to have a delicious and filling meal as a result.

After church we stopped over at Wilson airport for the kids to do a bit of plane watching as we caught up with  a good friend. Njeri and Leo loved it! Uncle Alex scored maximum points with them on that one. Headed home as my bestie Vee was around. We caught up on stories of work, food, future dreams etc ; the visit actually ended up being a sleepover as we were still chatting past midnight. LOL.Too bad she has to go back to Uganda tomorrow. It was a great weekend to say the least.

Have a great week ahead!

Leave a Reply

