Cut off


I cut my hair earlier this year. Really short, shorter than it has ever been.

It was not a big chop kind of thing as I have always been natural.

It was not a sign of emotional distress.

It was not an instantaneous decision. It took time, months even, of me asking friends how I would look with short hair. Checking out different looks, looking for a good hairstylist. When I finally decided to go ahead, I chopped off a bit at home and had the big chop done by a hairdresser.

I love the short hair look, and I am actually headed to the barbers in a few. Hahahahaha. But recent reactions have made me wonder about the perceptions we have of  women who cut their hair short :-

  1. That a woman cuts her hair as she is in emotional distress, or wants to cut off some things in her life.
  2. That she is unhappy with her sex life and wants to reclaim it. *Insert blank stare*
  3. Cutting off societal expectations of her. A way to express her identity, increase self awareness. (Hmm I am more self aware so….)
  4. Cutting of damaged ends. The “Big chop” , getting rid of relaxed hair and wanting to nurture her hair in its natural state.
  5. Because it is a trend. (Hey, Halle Berry made short hair look sexy)
  6. A cry for help; that a woman wants to be really SEEN.

The list is endless and I have been asked intrusive questions on the same. Am I sick? Is my marriage ok? Am I not sending a bad signal to my daughter that a masculine look is better? Am I Depressed? Am I not being selfish as I had really nice hair that grew long so fast while others struggle to grow their hair? Am I broke?

Thing is, women cut off their hair for various reasons. There is no one size fits all.

Sigh.

Why did I cut my hair? Personal Transformation!Because I wanted to.

Do I intend to keep this look? I do not know. I love it. So far, so good.

I have realized though that I spend more time in the mirror looking at myself. Really looking. Seeing my beauty for the first time. I am surprised at how much I had let my hair define me, even if I was not conscious of it at the time.

I know it does not make sense, but I really do SEE myself now.

2 thoughts on “Cut off

  1. I have had short hair for years now,the reasons people had for why I was sporting short,natural hair …many including all those you have listed above.But yes,for the first time I could see my face,like really see it was great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

